Structure of the Programme


Sustainable development, food security, technology and quality, sustainable food production, biotechnology and sustainable energy are the core content of the master program. With the international Joint Master's programme thus a unique and competent response to issues such as climate change and protection and promotion of livelihoods is offered in and for the Danube region.

  • a Master program for students with background in Agriculture, Biotechnology, Food Science, Foodtechnology,...
  • an interdisciplinary and intercultural program

Graduates Learning Objectives 

DAFM Hainburg alluvial forest Feb2016

  • to have a deep knowledge of agriculture and food production under the aspect of sustainability in the Danube Region
  • to be able to network and exchange the most actual knowledge of agricultural, food production and food technology under the aspect of sustainability
  • to understand the development of Danube Region from point of view of ecology, rural development and cultural  history
  • to have the capability to critically select and apply adequate methods for sustainability in agriculture, food production and food technology
  • to be able to analyse social interactions in an intercultural context. Due to the intercultural competence achieved, the graduate is able to be solely responsible for guiding international project teams
  • to have interdisciplinary knowledge, competencies and skills in agricultural and/or food science with a major focus on sustainability and sustainable technologies
  • to have qualification in intercultural learning, which allows a deeper understanding of the cultural and social development of and in the Danube region


This Master's programme is structured in 120 ECTS; to be obtained within 4 semesters, and also contains compulsory summer/winter schools + internship + lecture for conference preparation.

Structure of the master´s programme
Compulsory courses:         62 ECTS credits
Elective courses:               20 ECTS credits
Free electives:                  8 ECTS credits
Master’s thesis:                30 ECTS credits

The Master's programme comprises 9 Focus Areas of which 4 Focus Areas are compulsory:

  • Focus Area “Sustainable Agriculture” (compulsory – min. 20 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Food Safety and Consumer Science” (compulsory – min. 20 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Intercultural Learning” (compulsory – min. 12 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Sustainable rural and regional development and policy”
  • Focus Area “Biodiversity and sustainable use of natural resources”
  • Focus Area “Soil, water and climate” (compulsory – min. 10 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Biotechnology”
  • Focus Area “Regional specialities”
  • Focus Area “Sustainable energy systems”

More details can be found in the curriculum.


The full curriculum can be downloaded here: BOKU's website

Mobility - Read more



ivzw - International Non-Profit Organization
Registration number (ondernemingsnummer): 0546.953.997

This website uses cookies to enhance the user-friendliness . If you continue surfing on this page, you agree to the cookie usage.